Happy New LBT Year

posted Aug 31, 2013, 3:07 PM by Unknown user   [ updated Sep 5, 2013, 1:32 PM ]
About 40 revellers gathered at the Palais Theatre on Saturday 24th of August to welcome in the new LBT year with a quiz night hosted by the inimitable and indomitable David Pittaway.  Along the way they heard a summary of the year past from Peter Laidlaw (http://tinyurl.com/loeet9p), dismissed the outgoing committee and elected a new one. The new committee is:

    President:  Peter Laidlaw
    Treasurer: Liz Emery
    Secretary: Richard Forster
    Ordinary members:  Maxine Oates, Ros Barnett,  Endra O'May, Jenny O'Connor, Glynn Shevels,  Graham Rankin, Doug Emery

Thanks to those members who served on the committee during 2012-13 and did not restand: Richard Edwards, Chris Wilson, Tess Hallinan, Ali McRae, Jilly Archer and Laurence Burgin. Chris, Ali and Jilly in particular have provided years of leadership in guiding the LBT to become the organisation we all value today.

Thanks also to Jilly Archer and others who organised the night, and to everybody who brought a plate.  And congratulations to the 'Lost Souls' who bounded away with the quiz competition. 

We didn't make it through to sing Auld Lang Syne at midnight - maybe that should be the ambition next year.

Pete Laidlaw chooses a table prize

Deep thought

The winners are grinners

(Thanks to Bob Hawkins for pics)